See all the News

WCL ERA Leader Rob Dittrick of Pacific and First Baseman/Pitcher Greg Mahle of UC Santa Barbara Named First-Team All-WCL.

August 26, 2012

Seven Knights Earn All-WCL Honors including Second-Team All-WCL Selection Marc Gallegos of Corban

WCL ERA Leader Rob Dittrick of Pacific and First Baseman/Pitcher Greg Mahle of UC Santa Barbara Named First-Team All-WCL.

Seven Corvallis Knights earned All-WCL honors as announced by West Coast League President Ken Wilson yesterday.

Rob Dittrick, who posted the league's lowest ERA at 1.10, and Greg Mahle (pictured) of UC Santa Barbara, who led the Knights in batting with a .343 average and tossed a no-hitter in his one regular-season start, earned first-team All-WCL honors.

Both first-teamers earned big post-season victories as Dittrick got the win in the Knights' West Divisional Series clinching 3-0 home victory vs. Cowlitz, and Mahle beat the WCL champion Wenatchee AppleSox at Paul Thomas Sr. Stadium in game two of the WCL Championship Series.

Dittrick, a senior-to-be at Pacific, made 10 appearances and 4 starts in the regular season. He went 4-1 over 49 innings pitched and logged one complete game.

Mahle, a sophomore-to-be at UCSB, closed for much of the season earning two saves while posting a 2-1 record and 2.75 ERA over 9 regular-season appearances and 19 2/3 innings pitched.

Dittrick was a first-team starting pitcher pick while Mahle was the league's first-team utility selection.

Corvallis infielder Marc Gallegos of Corban earned second-team All-WCL honors as a second baseman. The sophomore-to-be led the WCL in stolen bases with 21 and hit .316 with 7 doubles, 2 triples and 19 RBIs.

Four Knights were named honorable mention All-WCL including Stanford frosh-to-be catcher Austin Barr (.294, 10 doubles, 2 HR, 18 RBI), Oregon State sophomore-to-be catcher Nate Esposito (.232, 10 RBI, 0 errors), UC Riverside senior-to-be pitcher Trevor Frank (1-1, 0.61) and UC Riverside junior-to-be pitcher Dylan Stuart (3-2, 3.19).

2012 All-WCL:

First-Team All-WCL

C - Nathaniel Causey (Arizona State), Bellingham Bells
1B - Joshua Wong (Hawaii-Hilo), Klamath Falls Gems
2B - Parker Miles (Chemeketa CC), Klamath Falls Gems
3B - Mitchell Gunsolus (Gonzaga), Wenatchee AppleSox
SS - Alex Rubanowitz (UC Riverside), Cowlitz Black Bears
OF - Will Sparks (Washington), Bend Elks
OF - Kyle Pearson (LSU-Shreveport), Kelowna Falcons
OF - Derek Atkinson (Clackamas CC), Bellingham Bells
UTL - Greg Mahle (UC Santa Barbara), Corvallis Knights
SP - Cord Cockrell (Louisiana-Lafayette), Kelowna Falcons
SP - Adam Gunn (Utah Valley), Bellingham Bells
SP - Arturo Reyes (Columbia Basin College), Walla Walla Sweets
SP - Rob Dittrick (Pacific), Corvallis Knights
SP - Brandon Marris (Southeastern Oklahoma State), Kelowna Falcons
RP - Tyler Kane (Washington), Wenatchee AppleSox

Second-Team All-WCL

C - Jerry McClanahan (UC Irvine), Kelowna Falcons
1B - Bo Walter (College of San Mateo), Bend Elks
2B - Marc Gallegos (Corban), Corvallis Knights; Jace Conrad (Louisiana-Lafayette), Kelowna Falcons; Steven Ventimilia (Hawaii), Wenatchee AppleSox
3B - Austin Byler (Nevada-Reno), Klamath Falls Gems
SS - Tanner Nielsen (Campbellsville), Klamath Falls Gems
OF - Austin Diemer (Cal State Fullerton), Cowlitz Black Bears
OF - Greg Velazquez (Cal State Fullerton), Klamath Falls Gems
OF - Jarel Lewis (College of Idaho), Bellingham Bells
UTL - Taylor Sparks (UC Irvine), Wenatchee AppleSox
SP - Derek Callahan (Gonzaga), Wenatchee AppleSox
SP - Cole Irvin (frosh-to-be at Oregon), Cowlitz Black Bears
SP - Mitch Merten (UC Irvine), Klamath Falls Gems
SP - Darin Gillies (Arizona State), Bend Elks
SP - Travis Radke (Portland), Bend Elks
RP - Thomas Eshelman (frosh-to-be at Cal State Fullerton), Klamath Falls Gems; Taylor Williams (Mt. Hood CC), Cowlitz Black Bears

All-WCL Honorable Mention

Bellingham Bells - Andrew Ely (Washington), Kai Hatch (Utah Valley); Bend Elks - J.R. Bunda (Portland), Steven Halcomb (Gonzaga), Shawn O'Brien (St. Mary's); Corvallis Knights - Austin Barr (frosh-to-be at Stanford), Nate Esposito (Oregon State), Trevor Frank (UC Riverside), Dylan Stuart (UC Riverside); Kelowna Falcons - Tyler Qualls (Louisiana Tech); Kitsap BlueJackets - Francisco Torres (Vanguard); Walla Walla Sweets - Brett Jacobs (Washington State), Hunter Virant (frosh-to-be at UCLA), Shane Zeile (UCLA); Wenatchee AppleSox - Beau Kerns (Wenatchee Valley CC).

2012 - Mitchell Gunsolus (Gonzaga) of Wenatchee
2011 - Alex Stanford (Gonzaga) of Walla Walla
2010 - Tommy Richards (Washington State) of Bend
2009 - Richie Jimenez (Riverside CC) of Corvallis
2008 - Drew Heid (Gonzaga) of Bend
2007 - Zach Kim (San Francisco) of Moses Lake; Brandon Kuykendall (Benedictine College) of Kitsap
2006 - Darin Holcomb (Gonzaga) of Spokane
2005 - Steve Marquardt (Columbia Basin College) of Wenatchee

WCL Pitchers of the Year
2012 - Cord Cockrell (Louisiana-Lafayette) of Kelowna
2011 - Owen Jones (Portland) of Wenatchee
2010 - Dayne Quist (UC Davis) of Kelowna
2009 - Matt Andriese (UC Riverside) of Corvallis
2008 - Jared Eskew (Cal Poly) of Corvallis
2007 - Paul Applebee (UC Riverside) of Bellingham
2006 - Ross Humes (Washington State) of Kitsap
2005 - Tommy Hanson (Riverside CC) of Aloha

WCL Coaches of the Year
2012 - Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee
2011 - Brooke Knight, Corvallis
2010 - Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee
2009 - Brooke Knight, Corvallis; Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee
2008 - Brooke Knight, Corvallis
2007 - Gabe Boruff, Moses Lake
2006 - Steve Hertz, Spokane
2005 - Ed Knaggs, Wenatchee

WCL Executives of the Year
2012 - Nick Caples, Bellingham
2011 - Eddie Poplawski, Bellingham
2010 - Zachary Fraser, Walla Walla
2009 - Dan Segel, Corvallis
2008 - Dan Segel, Corvallis
2007 - Dan Segel, Corvallis
2006 - Brent & Amy Kirwan, Moses Lake
2005 - Rick Smith & partners, Kitsap

Jim Dietz Sportsmanship Award*
2012 - Cowlitz Black Bears
2011 - Cowlitz Black Bears
2010 - Moses Lake Pirates
2009 - Moses Lake Pirates
2008 - Corvallis Knights

*established in 2008, and named after the league's inaugural commissioner Jim Dietz.